University of Tasmania’s Sandy Bay Campus
29 November - 1 December 2017

A dedicated day for postgraduate development and the opening reception ran on 28 November.

Download the 2017 Schedule

The ASCP provides a broad intellectual forum for scholars working within, or in communication with, European philosophical traditions. Its annual conference is the largest event devoted to continental philosophy in Australasia. For the 2017 conference, we seek to challenge commonplace understandings of the boundaries of scholarship in continental philosophy, with a particular focus on the role of feminist, postcolonial and ecological thought in transforming the key questions that drive philosophical inquiry.

Keynote Speakers

  • Lewis Gordon (University of Connecticut),
  • Sigi Jöttkandt (University of New South Wales),
  • Marguerite La Caze (University of Queensland), and
  • Elaine Miller (Miami University)

There will be a plenary panel on the work of Moira Gatens (University of Sydney).

Conference convenors

  • Hannah Stark
  • Timothy Laurie

Conference organising committee

  • Louise Richardson-Self
  • Briohny Walker
  • Erin Hortle
  • Larelle Bossi
  • Jeff Malpas
  • Pat McConville